The Treaty establishing the Economic Community of States, Territories, and Realms of the African Diaspora Sixth Region was adopted on 1st August 2019 appointing The State of the African Diaspora as the Secretariat.

The objective of the Community is – amongst other things – the following:

  1. to establish, unify, consolidate, and organise the Sixth Region of the African Union through the promotion of integration amongst its members;
  2. Enabling the establishment of social-political-economic frameworks of cooperation between members of the Sixth Region amongst themselves as well as between continental Africans, thereby promoting collective economic stability and raising the living standards of its people;
  3. Advancing African Diaspora political dialogue and social policies in areas of culture, education, energy, human security, and ultimately serve as a formidable catalyst of integration between Africa and the Diaspora.